Chapter Awards Presented at Conclave

At Conclave, the Grand Chapter presents awards to collegiate and professional chapters for exemplary performance in several areas.



T. Dale Stewart Best House and Best Non-House Chapter Awards

The T. Dale Stewart Awards, occasionally jokingly referred to as the Best Chapter with House and Beta Chapter with-out House, are the result of Conclave Motion 14 from the 13th Biennial Conclave in 1934. The details of the plan, the nature of the award and the frequency of the award were determined under the direction of the Supreme Council. During the 1934-1936 Biennium, Grand Collegiate Alchemist Villiers Meloche developed a set of criteria for these awards. The awards were named the T. Dale Stewart Awards.

Brother T. Dale Stewart, Sigma 1913, was a charter member of Sigma Chapter and the chapter's first house manager. In the early 1920s, when Sigma Chapter purchased a house, he became a trustee and a member of the housing corporation. At the national level, Brother Stewart served as Pacific District Counselor and chairman of the Alpha Chi Sigma board of trustees.

The 1934 Conclave allocated the chairman of the board of trustees a \$50 per year stipend, which Brother Stewart declined to accept. He returned his salary for the biennium to the Grand Chapter to be used however the Supreme Council deemed appropriate. The Supreme Council decided the best use of the money was to establish the chapter awards in his name. The awards were first presented at the 1936 Conclave. Alpha Tau Chapter at Tulane University received the first non-house chapter award, and Nu Chapter at Pennsylvania State College received the first house chapter award.

The awards were combined into one award in 2014 and are now called the T. Dale Stewart Best Chapter Award. The winner of the award is selected by the District Counselors.



J. Haworth Jonte Award for the Most Improved Collegiate Chapter

The J. Haworth Jonte Award for the Most Improved Collegiate Chapter was established by Conclave Motion 41 at the 2002 Conclave in Madison, Wisconsin to recognize the collegiate chapter that demonstrates the most improvement over the previous biennium.

Dr. Jonte, Beta Beta 1941, (known to everyone as "Howie") received his bachelor's degree in chemistry from the University of the Pacific, where his

father, J. Hervert Jonte, was a professor of geochemistry. Howie went on to graduate school at Washington State University and was initiated by Beta Beta Chapter in 1941. After receiving his

master's degree, Howie joined Shell as an analytical chemist. In 1946, he returned to academia and began teaching at Iowa State University. In 1951, he moved to the University of Arkansas, earning a doctorate degree in 1956. He attended his first Conclave in 1954. After leaving Arkansas, he returned to industry and worked for Texaco in Houston, Texas, where he became involved with the Houston Professional Chapter and served as Southwestern District Counselor.

Howie was instrumental to the creation of Beta Omicron Chapter at the University of Houston. He attended his second Conclave in 1958 and attended every Conclave until 2012. In 1966, he returned to academia, joining the chemistry department at the South Dakota School of Mines, where he was instrumental in the creation of Beta Phi Chapter. He was elected to the Supreme Council in 1966, serving as Grand Master Alchemist from 1970 to 1972. Howie had the unique opportunity to be at his father's initiation in 1961 at Beta Pi and also took part in his son's initiation at Beta Phi in 1973.

Gamma Beta Chapter at Florida State University received the first J. Haworth Jonte Award in 2004. The winning chapter is selected by the District Counselors.



Clyde B. Hutchison Award for Best Professional Activities

The Clyde B. Hutchison Award for Best Professional Activities was created by the Supreme Council as part of the planning process for the 1982 Conclave. The council wanted to emphasize collegiate chapter activities, so the Conclave schedule reduced the time allotted for legislative sessions and added additional sessions that included presentations by collegiate chapters to highlight their programs. Based upon the presentations, the chapter with the best professional activities was selected by the professional representatives.

The award was planned but unnamed until shortly before Conclave. The Supreme Council received word that Brother Clyde B. Hutchison, Alpha Delta 1919, had been working on his car, getting it ready for the trip to Conclave, when it fell off its jacks and fatally injured the former Grand Master Alchemist. The 1982 Conclave would have been his 21st Conclave, missing only three Conclaves since his first one in 1934.

World War I prompted Brother Hutchison to leave college to join the 111th infantry and Chemical Warfare Service. After the war, he returned to the University of Cincinnati to complete his studies and join Alpha Chi Sigma.

Hutch served on multiple committees, including a term as Southern District Counselor. He was elected to the Supreme Council in 1948 and was elected Grand Master Alchemist for the 1948-1950 Biennium. Brother Hutchison was a well known Conclave fixture, usually leaving weeks in advance, in what John Kuebler called Hutch's Land Plane, taking the scenic route and visiting as many covered bridges as he could along the way. Hutch's last official function for the fraternity came in 1981, when he was the installing officer for Gamma Delta Chapter at the College of Charleston.

The first presentation of the Clyde B. Hutchison Memorial Award for Best Professional Activities was a tie between Alpha Kappa Chapter and Beta Nu Chapter. The winning chapter is selected by the District Counselors.



Walter T. Schrenk Award for Conclave Attendance

The Walter T. Schrenk Award for the largest Conclave contingent is a continuation of an incentive prize given at the 35th Biennial Conclave in 1980. At that Conclave, Beta Delta Chapter at the University of Missouri-Rolla received a cash prize for bringing the most collegiate members to Conclave. The Beta Delta delegation decided to return the prize money to the Fraternity to buy a plaque and promote the Conclave attendance contest as a biennial award. Since Beta Delta Chapter sponsored the award, its members named it. The unanimous decision of the delegation was to name

the award after Walter T. Schrenk, former chairman of the University of Missouri-Rolla combined departments of chemistry and chemical engineering.

Brother Schrenk, Alpha 1917, joined the faculty at the Missouri School of Mines in 1923. While in Rolla, his efforts led to the installation of Beta Delta Chapter in 1936. He also hosted the annual Midwestern Jamboree on his farm outside Rolla. Doc Schrenk was appointed professor emeritus when he retired in 1961. He remained involved with Beta Delta, taking part in initiations and personally meeting with every pledge until his death in 1979. Dr. Schrenk served as Midwest District Counselor from 1939 through 1948, Grand Master of Ceremonies from 1948 to 1950, Grand Collegiate Alchemist from 1950 to 1954 and Grand Master Alchemist from 1954 to 1956.

The Walter T. Schrenk Award was first awarded to Zeta Chapter in 1982.

The Vincent A. Sedlak Professional Chapter Award

This award is presented to the best professional chapter for each biennium. Brother Vincent A. Sedlak, Alpha Pi 1946, was a longtime contributor to the Fraternity. A donation from his estate established a fund that provides grants to promote the professional branch of the Fraternity.

The winning chapter is selected by the Professional Representatives.